Lunette 41 - The underground tour
Lunette 41 - The underground tour
Experience fascinating insights into Landau's underworld on a guided tour of Landau's fortress history, including a descent into the underground passages of the "Lunette 41" fortification.
Guided tours of the Lunette 41 excavation site
Lunette 41 was built in the time of Louis XIV and advertised with the title "the largest and strongest fortress in Christendom". Experience fascinating insights into the Landau underworld on a walk through the fortress corridors of the southern Palatinate town of Landau. In the town itself, hardly anything of the former walls of the fortress remains today, but with every building project, gigantic walls are discovered once again. Under the city, the individual works were connected by a 30-kilometre network of tunnels. But what happened? Why are the walls not visible above ground? You will get all the answers during the guided tour through the fortress tunnels.
Admission & price: The guided tour lasts approx. 1.5 hours and costs €10.00 per person. The tour is free for PfalzCard holders.
Meeting place: Obertorplatz, in front of the restaurant "MIO".
Dates: The tours take place from March to November, every Saturday at 14:00.
Registration & further information available from:
Südliche Weinstrasse - Office for Tourism Landau in der Pfalz e. V.
Marktstraße 50, 76829 Landau in the Palatinate
Telephone: +49 (0) 6341 13-8310
Fax: +49 (0) 6341 13-8309
Registration under: +49 (0) 6341 13-8310 required.
Note: Sturdy shoes are recommended!
|Event End Date||27.11.2021|
Venue Information - Fortress Landau
A visible and clear expression of the French expansion policy of the 17th century in the Palatinate was the expansion of the city of Landau into a fortress. The most important fortress architect of the time, Sébastien Le Prestre de Vauban, had written a memorandum to King Louis XIV of the importance of the city as a possible gateway into Alsace, a breach in the French defense system that had to be closed. In April 1688, Minister of War Louvois personally laid the foundation stone for a fortress, which was built by 1691 with enormous technical and personnel expenditure: in other cases, more than 10,000 men were involved in the construction work under the supervision of Vauban, the medieval city wall was torn down and the stones used for the new walls. In addition, a 7 km long canal was specially created south of the Queich between Albersweiler and Landau to transport the building materials. Various factories such as hammer mills or brickworks were built along this canal. Within the city, the military administration corrected the medieval topography on the night of June 20, 1689 with a fire that destroyed the western part of the city along today's Marktstrasse with its numerous half-timbered houses. From a military point of view, the new fortress with a 2278 m long main wall was a state-of-the-art facility for the time. Shortly before the outbreak of the Spanish War of Succession, in 1700, the fortress was secured by the construction of an additional fort on the northwestern hill in front of the city. But even this reinforcement could not prevent the fortress from being captured every time during the sieges of 1702, 1703, 1704 and 1713. In the course of the 18th and 19th centuries, the fortress was structurally improved again and again through the construction of factories and barracks. Only the two city gates, parts of the lock system, a remnant of the so-called Red Barracks, Lunette 41 and the entire ensemble of the fort are preserved from the fortress of the 17th century. To protect the German Confederation from revolutionary movements and possible expansion plans by ambitious neighbors, some fortresses were designated as federal fortresses and expanded in 1815. This also included Landau, which was incorporated as a federal fortress from 1831. The military function of the federal fortresses was primarily to secure the western border against France. The so-called Quartier Chopin dates from the 19th century as a remarkable ensemble. After the fortress was razed in 1873, the remarkable ring road architecture was created in place of the ramparts.